Riot announces First Strike series of VALORANT tournaments

Riot Games has announced First Strike, a series of VALORANT tournaments it will organize that will see professional and amateur teams in eight regions across the globe compete for official championships.

In a news release posted on Wednesday, Riot Games revealed that tournaments will take place in North America, Europe, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Turkey, Asia, Oceania, Brazil and the Middle East concurrently and independently. First, an online qualifier component will be executed by third party organizers, with professional and amateur VALORANT teams competing. The top eight teams from each region will then participate in respective “First Strike Finals” from Dec. 3-6, with those events produced by Riot. The winning teams from each region, according to the release, “will earn the right to call themselves the first official regional VALORANT champions.”

“First Strike will provide our thriving competitive ecosystem with the platform to showcase their greatness, build regional legacy, and a foundation that will support the esport for years to come,” said Whalen Rozelle, Senior Director of Esports at Riot Games.

First Strike marks the first Riot-organized VALORANT events since the end of the “Ignition Series,” VALORANT’s first competitive season, which lasted roughly three months. During that time, tournament organizers partnered with Riot to present over 25 events across the globe. Beyond official Ignition Series events, the news release noted that hundreds of VALORANT tournaments have taken place, awarding more than $1 million in prizes globally.

Source link